Salta al contenido principal



Vice-rector of Research

Francisco Javier Arregui San MartínFrancisco Javier Arregui San Martín
Telephone: 948 16 9293




Patxi Arregui (Pamplona, Navarre, 1969) graduated in Industrial Engineering from the Tecnun School of Industrial Engineers in San Sebastian (1994) and holds a PhD in Telecommunications Engineering from the Public University of Navarre (2000), which he joined in 1995. After holding a range of teaching and research positions at the UPNA, in 2010 he was appointed Chair in Electronic Technology, a subject in which he has co-supervised 10 PhD theses. When named Vice-rector, he was Head of the Department of Electrical, Electronic and Communications Engineering, a Head of Department representative on the UPNA Governing Council and a member of its Permanent Committee. He has also been Secretary and Deputy Head of Department, and has sat since 2012 on the UPNA Research Committee, in which he has been a member of the Permanent, the Patents and the Events Committees.

His chief research interests are related to fibre optic sensors and nanostructured coatings. He was a member of the team which produced the first fibre optic sensor based on the "Layer-by-layer nano-assembly" method in 1998 at Virginia Tech, USA, where he carried out research in 1998, 2000 and 2004.

Thanks to his teamwork with UPNA researchers, he has authored more than 400 scientific papers, including over 170 articles published in journals with impact factor. These publications have been cited more than 6000 times, earning a Scopus h-index of 42 (around 8000 citations and h=48 in Google Scholar).

He is actively involved in the Editorial Boards of international journals and was the founding Chief Editor “Journal of Sensors”, with which he collaborated from 2007 to 2011. He has also been an Associate or Guest Editor of “IEEE Journal of Selected Topics in Quantum Electronics”, “IEEE Sensors Journal”, the aforementioned “Journal of Sensors” and “Sensors (MDPI)”, all of which are JCR indexed. He has sat on the Scientific Committees of national and international conferences, including “IEEE Sensors Conference”, “Eurosensors”, “CLEO Europe”, “SPIE Microtechnologies”, “ICST International Conference on Sensing Technology” and “Single-Molecule Sensors and NanoSystems International Conference”.

He is the editor of the book "Sensors based on nanostructured materials", co-editor of the book "Optochemical nanosensors" and co-author of two text books on digital electronics: "Solved problems in digital electronics" and “Problemas resueltos de electrónica digital”. He has also authored or co-authored more than 20 chapters for international books and made more than 170 contributions to international conferences (5 of which have earned prizes). He was guest speaker at 17 of these, including the opening plenary talk at the Eurosensors Conference.

He has participated in 31 research projects funded through competitive public calls for proposals (9 as IP) and has also served as Research Project and Activity Assessor for different agencies: ERC European Research Council, Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC) UK, Czech Science Foundation, Austrian Research Promotion Agency (FFG), Agencia Nacional de Evaluación y Prospectiva (ANEP),Spain, Austrian Science Fund (FWF), Fundação para a Ciência e a Tecnologia (FCT), Portugal, Universidad Nacional de Colombia, Agencia Nacional de Promoción Científica y Tecnológica de Argentina (ANPCyT).

As for knowledge transfer to the production sector, he has taken part in 25 OTRI contracts with private entities (11 as IP) and has co-invented 17 patents and utility models. He has also been a Development Partner of 5 technology-based companies, including NADETECH INNOVATIONS SL (2009 EIBT Navarra Network Prize, 2011 Ideactiva Prize, 2014 Best Campus Iberus Business Project Prize), EVERSENS SL (2015 Impulso Emprendedor, 2015 Campus Iberus Emprende Prize, H2020 - SME Instrument Phase I) and PYROISTECH SL (runner-up, 2019 Initiate Awards), all of which have been recognised as UPNA spin-off companies.

Area Management Offices

Antonio Jesús López Martín

Antonio Jesús López Martín
Telephone: 948 16 9311

Antonio López Martín (Pamplona, 1972) graduated in Telecommunications Engineering in 1995 and earned a PhD, with Extraordinary Prize, in 1999, both at the UPNA. He has been a Full Professor of Signal Theory and Communications since 2011.

His main lines of research are in the fields of ultra-low consumption integrated circuit design and wireless communications. He has been a researcher at the Spanish National Astronomical Centre (1995), the Institute for Signal and Information Processing, ETH Zurich (1997), and the VLSI Lab and NASA Center for Autonomous Control Engineering at New Mexico State University (ten stays between 1996 and 2012). He has won the Talgo Award for Technological Innovation (2012), the Engineer of the Year in Navarre Award (2008), the Caja Navarra Research Award (2007) and the Complutense University of Madrid’s Young Science and Technology Award (2007), among other recognitions. He is or has been an associate editor of 10 international journals and a member of the technical committees of 47 international conferences. He has co-authored more than 425 publications in books, journals and international conference proceedings, and 6 international patents. He has participated in 65 research projects for public agencies and businesses, leading 22 of them. He has supervised 8 doctoral theses. He is a project assessor for different regional, national and international agencies.

In academic management, he has been the Deputy Head of the School of Industrial and ICT Engineering -ETSIIT- (2008-2014) and the UPNA’s Institute of Smart Cities (2015-2017), the coordinator of 6 degrees and a member of the ETSIIT School Board, and the work groups for the development of 5 degree programmes. He is in charge of the Communications, Signal and Microwaves research group (a group of international excellence according to ANEP), a member of the Editorial Board, the Research Committee and the Senate, and a patron of the University Society Foundation, among other things.