• ES
  • EU
  • EN

Vice chancellors

Vice-rector of Research

Ramón Gonzalo García

Telephone: +34 948 169293
Fax: 34 948 169004
e-mail: vicerrectorado.investigacion@unavarra.es


Ramón Gonzalo Ramón Gonzalo García (Logroño, La Rioja, 1972) graduated in Telecommunications Engineering, with Extraordinary Merit, from the Public University of Navarre (1995), which also awarded him a maximum-grade European Doctorate (2000). He joined the UPNA as an Assistant in 1995 before becoming a Tenured Professor in 2003 and taking the Chair in Signal Theory and Communications in 2010.

His most outstanding research includes the designs for the Hispasat, Astra and Amazonas satellite dishes, and the development of terahertz (THz) technology for use in the design of new airport cameras, medical imaging systems and different types of sensor. He has represented the Spanish Ministry of Defence on different NATO SET panels on research and technology, and has sat on the Management Committee of the European Virtual Institute of Metamaterial Research.

He has directed and been in charge of 21 research projects with public entities funded by the Government of Navarre, the Spanish Ministry of the Economy and Competitiveness, the Ministry of Industry, the European Space Agency, and the Sixth and Seventh Framework Programmes. He has also taken part in a further 23 research projects and more than 23 R&D contracts with companies and the government, 13 of these as head investigator. He has co-registered 5 patents, two of which have been filed as international patents and are currently being exploited. He has performed research at the European Space Agency (Netherlands), the Rutherford Appleton Laboratory (England) and the Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe (Germany). As a Visiting Researcher, he has worked on the European Space Agency’s STAR TIGER programme, developed by the STFC in England, and on the Rutherford Appleton Laboratory’s Silicon Microfabrication Programme.

He has written 7 book chapters and has 87 JCR publications (2 invited), more than 160 publications in international conferences (30 invited) and more than 50 in national conferences (4 invited). He is an evaluator for Framework Programme Space and FET projects, and other research programmes run by the Ministry, ANEP and UEFISCDI. He reviews articles for 17 scientific journals, including Nature Photonics. He has supervised 8 doctoral theses and more than 40 Final Year Undergraduate Projects.

He has earned the Public University of Navarre’s Research Prize for Exact, Biological, Medical and Technical Sciences, awarded for his entire career (2013); a European Space Agency Award for his contribution to the development of a new antenna device (1999); the Nokia Award for the best Doctoral Thesis on Mobile Internet and Third Generation Mobile Solutions, awarded by the Official Association of Telecommunications Engineers (2001); four prizes for Best Article at international congresses and conferences; the 2010 Best Engineer of the Year Award from the Association of Telecommunications Engineers of La Rioja; and the 2010 Crea EIBT Prize for the best technology-based business project.

Ramon organised the 30th National Symposium of the International Union of Radio Science, URSI 2015, the international congress “Metamaterials Congress 2008” and the “12th European School on Metamaterials: Antennas based on metamaterials technology and their applications”, all held in Pamplona, the “27th ESA Antenna Technology Workshop on Innovative Periodic Antennas: Electromagnetic Bandgap, Left-handed materials and Frequency Selective Surfaces”, held in Santiago de Compostela, and the “Workshop on Metamaterials for Optics and Microwave applications”, held in San Sebastián. He has sat on a number of technical committees and organised several special sessions at international conferences on high-frequency, microwave and antenna technology.

His experience in the field of academic management includes serving as Deputy Head of the UPNA’s School of Industrial Engineering and Telecommunications, in which he has been in charge of the Telecommunications Engineering degree (2006 to 2008) and Head of the Electrical and Electronic Engineering Department (2008 to 2010). He took part in the working groups which designed the Undergraduate Degree in Telecommunications Technology Engineering and the Master’s Degree in Telecommunications Engineering. He sat on the Board of the School of Industrial Engineering and Telecommunications from 2006 to 2012, and has been a member of the Senate since 2008.

Acceso a Instalaciones

Acceso a la información sobre el calendario académico

Acceso a la Sede Electrónica

Public University of Navarre
Arrosadia Campus
Tel. 948 169000
Fax. 948 169169
Contact by E-mail

Tudela campus
Avda. de Tarazona s/n
31500 Tudela
Tel. 948 417800
Fax. 948 417892
Contact by E-mail